## **OXFORDSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL**

**MINUTES** of the meeting held on Tuesday, 16 May 2017 commencing at 2.00 pm and finishing at 2.25 pm.

### Present:

Councillor Zoé Patrick - in the Chair

### Councillors:

Lynda Atkins Hannah Banfield Jamila Begum Azad David Bartholomew Maurice Billington Liz Brighouse OBE Paul Buckley Kevin Bulmer Nick Carter Mark Cherry Dr Simon Clarke Yvonne Constance OBE Ian Corkin Helen Evans Arash Fatemian Neil Fawcett

Ted Fenton
Mrs Anda FitzgeraldO'Connor
Mike Fox-Davies

Stefan Gawrysiak

Mark Gray Carmen Griffiths Tim Hallchurch MBE Pete Handley Jenny Hannaby Neville F. Harris Steve Harrod

Mrs Judith Heathcoat Hilary Hibbert-Biles John Howson Ian Hudspeth Tony llott

Dr Kirsten Johnson Bob Johnston Liz Leffman

Lorraine Lindsay-Gale

Mark Lygo Kieron Mallon Jeannette Matelot Charles Mathew Deborah McIlveen Glynis Phillips Susanna Pressel Laura Price

Eddie Reeves
Judy Roberts
Alison Rooke
Dan Sames
Gillian Sanders
John Sanders
Les Sibley
Emily Smith
Roz Smith
Lawrie Stratford
Alan Thompson
Emma Turnbull
Michael Waine
Liam Walker
Richard Webber

The Council considered the matters, reports and recommendations contained or referred to in the agenda for the meeting and decided as set out below. Except insofar as otherwise specified, the reasons for the decisions are contained in the agenda and reports, copies of which are attached to the signed Minutes.

### 134/17 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

(Agenda Item 1)

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Field-Johnson and Reynolds.

## 135/17 APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMAN

(Agenda Item 4)

The Council had before them a report (CC4), setting out Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972 which allowed Councils` to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillors who have, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent service to the Council as past members of the Council.

# (a) Reverend Tony Williamson

**RESOLVED:** (on a motion by Councillor Brighouse, seconded by Councillor Pressel and carried nem con) to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on Reverend Tony Williamson, under section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, in recognition of her significant contribution to the Council in particular and public service in general.

### (b) Mr Patrick Greene

**RESOLVED:** (on a motion by Councillor Hudspeth, seconded by Councillor Judith Heathcoat and carried nem con) to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on Patrick Green, under section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, in recognition of his significant contribution to the Council in particular and public service in general.

# (c) Ms Janet Godden

**RESOLVED:** (on a motion by Councillor Webber and seconded by Councillor Smith and carried nem con) to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on Janet Godden under section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, in recognition of his significant contribution to the Council in particular and public service in general.

Once the Alderman had been appointed, the Chairman presented each Alderman in turn with a Certificate of Appointment.

	in the Chair
Date of signing	 